Daytona 500 winner raced at Lime Rock

Congrats to the youngest-ever Daytona 500 winner, Trevor Bayne, yet another driver who cut his or her teeth at Lime Rock!

Bayne ran the Mohegan Sun 200 Camping World Series East race on Aug. 16, 2008. As a rookie in the series, driving the #1 Dale Earnhardt Chevrolet, he finished 17th in a field of 32 cars, having started second on owner's points when qualifying was rained out. Bayne was third-fastest in the first practice session (behind Matt Kobyluck, the eventual race winner, and Eric Curran, both of whom had had lots of Lime Rock laps). You never know when you'll see the Next Big Thing at Lime Rock Park!

Click here for a short clip of Bayne on track during one of the LRP practice sessions.

Many thanks to Lime Rock's press room manager Dick Madden, who dug out the Trevor-Bayne-at-Lime-Rock records within seconds of the Daytona checkered flag, and photographer S. Andre Yoder-Harris.